the mothers of invention

cruising with ruben & the jets (5)

1968 lp usa verve  v6 5055
      go to different pressings

apostolic studios, nyc
december, 1967 - february, 1968

released november 1968

lyrics & extra info:

ray collins: lead vocals
frank zappa: low grumbles, oo-wah and lead guitar
roy estrada: high weazlings, dwaedy-doop & electric bass
don preston: redundant piano triplets
ian underwood: redundant piano triplets, alto saxophone
motorhead sherwood: baritone saxophone & tambourine
bunk gardner: tenor saxophone
jimmy carl black: lewd pulsating rhythm
arthur tripp: lewd pulsating rhythm

jay anderson: 1984 mix new string bass tracks
arthur barrow: 1984 mix new bass tracks
chad wackerman: 1984 mix new drums tracks

all compositions by frank zappa except where noted

produced by frank zappa

engineered by dick kunc

cover by cal schenkel

  1. cheap thrills
  2. love of my life
  3. how could i be such a fool
  4. deseri (ray collins, paul buff)
  5. i'm not satisfied
  6. jelly roll gum drop
  7. anything (ray collins)
  8. later that night
  9. you didn't try to call me
  10. fountain of love (frank zappa, ray collins)
  11. "no. no. no."
  12. any way the wind blows
  13. stuff up the cracks