sun ra and the arkestra

sound of joy

1994 cd usa delmark ds-414

re-release of the 1968 vinyl album, with 2 bonus tracks

studio recording - late 1956
(not released until 1968, and several tracks had appeared already on "visits planet earth")

sun ra: piano, wurlitzer electric piano
art hoyle: trumpet
dave young: trumpet
julian priester: trombone
pat patrick: alto saxophone, bass saxophone
john gilmore: tenor saxophone
charles davis: bass saxophone
victor sproles: bass
william cochran: drums
jim herndon: tympani
clyde williams: vocals (on the two bonus tracks)

side one

  1. al is a sound of joy  (ra)

  2. overtones of china  (ra)

  3. two tones  (patrick - davis)

  4. paradise  (ra)

  5. planet earth  (ra)

  6. ankh  (ra)

  7. saturn  (ra)

  8. reflections in blue  (ra)

  9. al viktor  (ra)

  10. as you once were  **  cd bonus track **

  11. dreams come true  **  cd bonus track **