sun ra & his arkestra

live at montreux

2008 2cd usa inner city records ic 1039

re-release of the 1978 vinyl album

recorded live at the montreux jazz festival, 1976

sun ra: keyboards, vocals
al evans: flugelhorn
chris capers: trumpet
ahmed abdullah: trumpet
craig harris: trombone
victor chancey: horn
john gilmore: sax, percussion, vocals
pat patrick: sax, flute
marshall allen: sax, oboe, flute, vocals
danny davis: sax, flute
danny ray thompson: sax, flute
reggie hudgins: sax
eloe omoe: bass clarinet
tony bunn: bass
hayes burnett: bass
clifford jarvis: drums, percussion
larry bright: drums
james jacson: percussion, bassoon, vocals
atakatune: percussion
june tyson: vocals

produced by sun ra

disc one

  1. for the sunrise   (s.ra)
  2. of the other tomorrow   (s.ra)
  3. from out of where others dwell on sound infinity spheres    (s.ra)
  4. the house of eternal being   (s.ra)
  5. gods of the thunder realm   (s.ra)
  6. lights on a satellite   (s.ra)

disc two

  1. take the a-train (interlude)   (s.ra)
  2. take the a-train   (b.strayhorn)
  3. prelude   (s.ra)
  4. el is a sound of joy   (s.ra)
  5. encore 1   (s.ra)
  6. encore 2   (s.ra)
  7. we travel the spaceways   (s.ra)